RID Certification

RID plays a leading role in establishing a national standard of quality for interpreters. RID certifications are a highly valued asset and provide an independent verification of an interpreter’s knowledge and abilities allowing them to be nationally recognized for the delivery of interpreting services among diverse users of signed and spoken languages. Furthermore, in some states, holding a valid RID certification is required to provide interpreting services.

RID Certification Process

Each RID credential has unique requirements that must be completed before it can be awarded. Some certifications involve passing a series of exams and others involve submitting documentation of training and experience. In all cases, if the candidate is determined to meet or exceed RID’s national standard, they are awarded certification. Detailed information about these requirements can be found on the corresponding certification page.

Types of RID Certification

RID currently offers two different certifications. In additional, RID also recognizes credentials assessed and awarded by the National Association for the Deaf (NAD). Individuals who hold NAD credentials are considered Certified Members of RID.

*Click on the links below to view the related certifications.

  • Previously Offered RID Certifications – These RID certifications are fully recognized; however, the exams are no longer available.
  • NAD Certifications – These certifications were developed and administered by NAD and are recognized by RID.
  • RID Retired Certifications – RID no longer supports or recognizes these credentials and individuals can no longer use them as validation of their abilities.


Certification Verification

To request verification of your credentials, including test status and membership verifications, please complete and submit this form.


Check out our Testing and Certification Library